Spring migrants are making their appearance across the island now, though it will be better in a couple of weeks. Here’s some photos from Corp Woods, which (outside of my yard) is the most convenient place for me to visit for migrant songbirds. The White-eyed Vireo was working the limbs above us as I spoke with a birder from Houston who urged me to visit Sabine Woods during migration. I saw the Northern Parula a number of times today and was lucky to get anything even postable. The Swamp Sparrow was down by the mud hole where I saw the Louisiana Waterthrush last week. A Hooded Warbler was seen there today, but not by me.

white-eyed-vireo-04-03-2016
White-eyed Vireo

northern-parula-04-03-2016
Northern Parula

swamp-sparrow-04-03-2016
Swamp Sparrow

Swamp Sparrows winter here and summer in northern Canada.

There were several of the waterthrushes at this spot today, so I can’t help but post a few more photos. I am looking forward to seeing a Northern Waterthrush for a change.

louisiana-waterthrush-d-04-03-2016

louisiana-waterthrush-04-03-2016

That white eyebrow (supercilium) that widens slightly at the back is the classic field mark for Louisiana Waterthrush. Though my other specimen does not have that (top and bottom shots are same bird), I was thinking maybe a Northern. But NO. Everything else is contraindicative. The soft, sparse breast markings and clean white throat say otherwise I am pretty sure.

louisiana-waterthrush-c-04-03-2016

Back home late afternoon, I spied a Worm-eating Warbler from my deck, grabbed the camera and headed out to the alley where I failed to see it again. I did see a Hooded Warbler in the same tree though (no worthy photo) and had a chat with the neighbor who was wondering what the heck I was doing staring at his tree. He got a look at the Hooded after I pointed it out and seemed pleased. He remembered when the Yellow-crowned Night Herons were nesting back here about 4 years ago.

