Great Blue

GBHE-12-07-2015

I caught this classic heron pose out at San Luis Pass on Monday. The weather was clear and cool so I could not resist going out. It was pretty quiet out there all and all. Saw a pair of non-breeding Black-bellied Plovers, some Herring Gulls, a Ruddy Turnstone, and Sanderlings

herring-gull-12-07-2015

I saw some Green-winged Teals at Lafitte’s Cove (life bird) along with the usual grebes, mallards and shovelers.

green-winged-teal-12-07-2015

At the State Park, an Osprey in a dead tree.

osprey-12-07-2015

Also seen on this day-trip:

  • Crested Caracara
  • White-tailed Kite
  • Eastern Phoebe
  • Blue-winged Teal
  • Loggerhead Shrike
  • Roseate Spoonbill
  • Sandhill Crane
  • Whimbrel
  • Yellow-rumped Warbler
  • Red-winged Blackbird (f)
  • Ibis and all the usual egrets

(Since this new WordPress editor no longer cooperates with my regular workflow practices, and I am too lazy to figure out work-arounds, I am posting all images full size. Engineers simply cannot leave well enough alone.)

 

