Sandhill Cranes

sandhill-crane-b-12-05-2015

There were maybe 40 or 50 Sandhills out at Scholes International Airport on Saturday morning, spread out over a wide area. I took this on Stewart Road right through the chain link fence.

Fun Facts About Sandhill Cranes

  • They always fly first class. The non-migratory Sandhills in Florida and Cuba are probably on the government’s no-fly list.
  • They are so large they have to get clearance from air traffic control before they can land.
  • Santa’s sleigh is actually drawn by Sandhill Cranes, and the Christmas song Rudolph the Red-Capped Sandhill has been completely expunged from popular memory and replaced by the one about reindeer, composed obviously by some half-talent dandy, high on peyote buttons or mushrooms.

(I have repeatedly added this information to the wikipedia entry but someone always removes it. Thank goodness for blogs!)

 

Eastern Meadowlark

eastern-meadowlark-12-05-2015

This one, out on 8 Mile Road, sang for me and I checked the song on my bird app. So this is really my first confirmed Eastern. Now I will be on the look-out (listen-out?) for a Western, as Galveston is at the edge of their range.

savannah-sparrow-12-05-2015

Savannah Sparrow

Also out on 8 Mile Road. I’m seeing oodles of Yellow-rumped Warblers out at the East End now, but no photos worth sharing.

lincolns-sparrow-maybe-12-04-2015

Lincoln’s Sparrow?

That’s my best guess. Terrible photo, out at the Corp Woods sanctuary on Friday last. There were two of them.

