killdeer-05-15-2015Killdeer

This one was working the parking area at East Beach yesterday and let me get quite close in the car. I have learned that birds seen by roadways are already acclimated to cars so don’t stop and get out of the car. They’ll take to wing in a hurry. This often leads me to maneuvering the vehicle into odd angles in the middle of the road trying to line up a shot.


Last time I found myself stopped at a 45° angle across both lanes on a highway, training my lens into the roadside brush, I stopped and thought, “gee, I wonder if there’s any cars coming.” Once I got an acceptable number of exposures of my subject I popped up and looked and the road was still clear. Well done! I’d rather be lucky than good any day. I need a bumper sticker that reads:

I’M NOT DRIVING LIKE AN IDIOT
I’M DRIVING LIKE A BIRDER

sanderling-05-15-2015
Sanderling

And another Sanderling, this one in high breeding color. Look how dark and rusty that head is. They don’t get much more colorful than this.

ruddy-turnstone-05-11-2015Ruddy Turnstone

In birding, ruddy and rufus refer to reddish hues in the plumage. This poor turnstone lost a leg in the war (okay, I’m guessing here.) Come on Nature which are you beautiful or cruel? Make up your mind! These are more numerous here in Winter and it seems to me that they can be found year round, though the range map at All About Birds shows no presence here at all. They winter in numbers all along the S. A. coastline and breed way up north.

