Following up on the Sunday birding bonanza at Corp Woods, here’s an update with Monday’s action.

summer-tanager-m-04-13-2015
Summer Tanager

This male Summer Tanager was resting on a utility wire in the back yard Monday afternoon. He then flew over to a branch near the deck where I was sitting (also resting) and afforded me a proper portrait. Well done little birdie! Now go tell all the other birdies this is how it’s done. I also saw a Yellow-throated Vireo and a Yellow Warbler out back. The influx of migrants after that rainy front no doubt spilled out along much of the UTC.

Mid-morning Monday, April 13th, 2015, headed back out to Corp Woods and the sun was actually shining this time!

indigo-bunting-m-04-13-2015

lizardIndigo Bunting
Fan-throated Lizard Bird

Another view of this exotic little blue bird. I did not see any females. They probably travel separately to avoid all the inter-gender bickering during that rather daunting trans-Gulf flight. The anoles were also well represented with their bizarre courtship displays.

american-redstart-m-04-13-2015American Redstart

This is my first sighting of the male American Redstart. I have seen the females in past years and they are, frankly, much cuter.

hooded-warbler-04-13-2015

chestnut-sided-warblerHooded Warbler
Chestnut-sided Warbler

This bird was by far the tamest of all I saw in the two days covered by these postings. My first photo of a Hooded last Spring was the same deal. It flitted around by the side walk down the street from my apartment and let me approach with very little concern. The Chestnut-sided Warbler was another happy discovery out there. Really an astounding array of migrants!

swallow-tailed-kite-04-13-2015
Swallow-tailed Kite

And here’s documentation on the Swallow-tailed Kite I saw the day before. When we saw it then I asked a lady nearby what it was and she said, “White-tailed Kite.” Sorry, not with that crazy forked tail. Had to look it up later when I got home. Another migrant, swooping low and probably feeding on migrant songbirds. This is a South American hawk with a summertime population seen mainly in Florida.

tennessee-warbler-04-13-2015
Tennessee Warbler

I think I got more photos of this species than any of the others. I like this pose and the bright green back-lit leaves. Spring gets so punchy with the color green!

birderKelly-jacketed Bird Lurker

Seen commonly all over the country in Spring, this species is known for its strong voyeuristic tendencies and single topic mono-culture. There were only a few people out there on Monday, but Sunday was like a theater lobby at intermission.

blue-grosbeak-04-13-2015

ruby-throated-hummingbird-04-13-2015Blue Grosbeak
Ruby-throated Hummingbird

At a glance, the Blue Grosbeak might be mistaken for one of those Indigos, but for those dead give-away rusty wing bars. If it was bright red it would look like a Cardinal. And if my grandmother had wheels she’d be a wagon. One day I will see a hummer that is something other than the Ruby-throated Hummingbird.

inca-dove-c-04-13-2015
Inca Dove

I saw my first Inca Doves last year right in the East End residential district, in the street by the curb. I yelled at Carol to stop the car but I had no camera with me. All you see in town are the White-winged Doves so these are pretty rare in the city. Two were at my feeder this morning.

inca-dove-b-04-13-2015

inca-dove-04-13-2015Inca Doves

I love that scale pattern all over the body. Seen in the Southwest and Mexico year round, Texas marks its eastern boundary.

