Went poking around Pelican Island on Saturday morning looking for some bird action. Large as it is the island is mostly private property with every intriguing looking side road plastered with sternly worded prohibitions all suggesting, without the least bit of subtlety, dire consequences to any and all who may be feeling cocky enough to give’em a try.

The last dirt road on the left before you reach Seawolf Park is blockaded with a heavy iron gate and chains with the expected signage. A pole mounted CCTV camera hangs limp from its mount and facing down. Clubbed to death no doubt by somebody doing some illegal dumping, the evidence of which is strewn about on both sides of the fence. I stopped the car before the gate and got out.

coyotes-on-pelican-island-03-07-2015

I’m just about to take a short walk up into the forbidden zone when I see, maybe 20 yards up the gravel road, four coyotes crossing left to right. I stooped and rested my lens on the gate and started clicking off exposures as they each in turn noted my presence without the least concern. These two look like they’re cheek-to-cheek and I’m quite happy with the pose they gave me.

Canon 70D, 400mm, f/5.6, 1/400th, ISO:1600

Update: April 1, 2015

Coast Monthly (print & web) included this shot in their Shutterbugs feature last Sunday.

Screenshot from 2015-04-01 06:53:48

