The Army Corps of Engineers has a station near the ferry landing on Galveston’s east end that includes a charming little nature preserve. There’s two long man-made ponds and a couple of short boardwalks, but mostly just weedy scrub forest type terrain. A big sign at the gate warns you to watch out for snakes (the East end has been known for rattlers since 1528 when Spanish explorer Cabeza de Vaca referred to the place as “Island of Snakes.”)

I stopped by this morning before work and saw nothing but Starlings until I was ready to leave, and then this little guy burst from a nearby bush and posed briefly for me on a branch quite far away. I make this for the Ash-throated Flycatcher, which is a vagrant here as far as every range map I can find. This is another lifer for me.

IMG_1046
Ash-throated Flycatcher

After a few exposures he took off and I could not locate him again. I cropped this to include the odd looking bokeh.

