A Brief Fall Outing

american-kestral-11-09-2015

I threw in a load of laundry and headed out to the East End to see what I could find this morning. I snapped this Rock Pigeon just to check my exposure settings and didn’t notice until I got home the American Kestral perched nearby. Nice for sizing this bird: they really are tiny falcons, AKA Sparrow Hawk.

belted-kingfisher-11-09-2015Belted Kingfisher

Perched on a wire out on Boddeker Road. This is about as close as I ever get. They spook so easily.

eastern-phoebe-b-11-09-2015

eastern-phoebe-11-09-2015
Eastern Phoebe at the Corp Woods. I saw one in the back yard last week.

meadowlark-11-09-2015Meadowlark of the Eastern or Western variety, can’t tell. It would not sing for me.

black-crowned-night-heron-11-09-2015

Black-crowned Night Heron (immature) They always have the creepy Dr. Evil vibe going somehow. It is not a Yellow-crown because: short and squat stature, short legs and neck, brown back with distinct white arrowhead marks, lower bill is mostly yellow (Yellow-crowns have mostly black bills, though they can have some yellow toward the base.)

4 replies to “A Brief Fall Outing

    1. I dunno. Birds puff out their feathers from time to time don’t they? It seems a part of the standard preening routine to me. In cold weather they trap air pockets in between for insulation but that’s not what the meadowlark was doing. The next frame on my card he was all slendered up again.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star